New European Commission takes office

Saturday, November 1, 2014 - 09:00

On 1 November the new European Commission, led by former Luxembourgish Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, took office. The new Commission will focus above all on jobs, growth and investment; Europe’s Digital Agenda features as the second main priority. President Juncker has changed the functioning of the Commission, appointing his Vice-Presidents to oversee and coordinate certain policy areas.

For public libraries’ advocacy work, these are the most relevant new Commissioners:

Tibor Navracsics (Hungary), Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport

Tibor Navracsics (48) is a lawyer and member of the Hungarian governing party Fidesz (EPP). From 2010 to 2014, he was Minister of Public Administration and Justice. In June 2014, he became Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade and Deputy Prime Minister.


Marianne Thyssen (Belgium), Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility

Marianne Thyssen (58) has ample experience in EU politics, having been a Member of the European Parliament for the Flemish Christian Democrats (EPP) since 1991. Both as MEP and in previous functions, Thyssen has spent all of her professional life working on social and economic issues.

Andrus Ansip (Estonia), Vice-President for the Digital Single Market

Andrus Ansip (58) is one of four former Prime Ministers in the Juncker Commission, having served as Estonia’s Head of Government from 2005 until 2014. Ansip is a member of the Reform Party (ALDE) and will head the Commission’s “project team” on all digital matters.


Günther Oettinger (Germany), Commissioner for Digital Economy & Society

Günther Oettinger (61), a member of the CDU (EPP), served as Vice-President for Energy in the second Barroso Commission (2010-2014). His previous experience includes serving as Prime Minister of the German state of Baden-Württenberg.